“BioEconomy Rome” II Edition of International Meeting
19th November 2012
IRBM Science Park – Pomezia (RM)
9.30 – 10.00   Registration

  • 10.00 – 10.40 “Welcome”
    • Enrico Garaci, President “Istituto Superiore di Sanità”  President “CNCCS”
    • Francesco Profumo, Minister of “Education, University, and Research”
    • Antonio Catricalà, Undersecretary to the presidency for the Council of Ministers
    • Nicola Zingaretti, President of “Province of Rome”
  • 10.40 – 11.40 “Scientific Research and Ethics in 21st Century Europe”
    • Antonio Tajani, Vice President of the “European Commission” and Commissioner for Industry and Enterprise
    • Mons. Zygmunt Zimowski,     President of the “Papal Council for Health Workers”    
    • Bruno Strigini, President of “Merck Global Human Health, Europe and Canada”
    • Vittorio Prodi, European Parliament
    • Paolo Bartolozzi, European Parliament
    • Giuseppe Fioroni, Member of Parliament, formerly Minister of Education, University and Research
  • 11.40 – 12.00 “CNCCS: Goals and Achievements”
    • Ralph Laufer, Scientific Director, “IRBM Science Park”
  • 12.00 – 12.50 “Rare Diseases”
    • Coordinator: Maurizio Pocchiari,    Director, “Department of Cell Biology and Neurosciences” Istituto Superiore di Sanità
    • Robert Pacifici, Vice President “CHDI Foundation” – Los Angeles
    • Lucia Monaco, Scientific Director, “Telethon”
    • Frédéric Revah,      Managing Director, “Genethon”- Paris
    • Domenica Taruscio, Director of “National Centre for Rare Diseases”, Istituto Superiore di Sanità.
  • 12.50 – 13.40  “Neglected and Poverty-related Diseases”
    • Coordinator: Giovanni Rezza, Head, Dept. Infectious Parasitic and Immuno-mediated
    • Diseases Istituto Superiore di Sanità. President of Scientific Committee CNCCS.
    • Allan Goldstein, Professor & Emeritus Chairman, Dept. Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, “The George Washington University School of Medicine” – Washington D.C.
    • Francesco A. Rio,     Vice Director, “Department of control of Neglected Tropical Diseases”, World Health Organization – Geneva
    • Bernard Pécoul, Executive Director, “The Drugs for Neglected Diseases Initiative” – Geneva
  • 13.40 – 14.40 Lunch
  • 14.40 – 15.40 “Pharmaceutical Research and the Institutions”.
    • Coordinator:Enrico Garaci, President of “Istituto Superiore di Sanità”President CNCCS
    • Pierluigi Antonelli, President, “MSD Italia”
    • Domenico Di Virgilio,    Member of Parlamentary Commission of enquiry into regional health deficit.
    • Luca Pani,  Managing Director, “AIFA” (Italian Medicines Agency)
    • Daniele Bosone Vice President “Commission for Health and Hygiene” – “Italian Senate”
    • Massimo Vari UnderSecretary “Ministry of Economic Development”
  • 15.40 – 16.20“From Laboratory to Industry”
    • Coordinator: Pietro Di Lorenzo, President of “IRBM Science Park”,
    • Managing Director “CNCCS”
    • Maria Cristina Messa,     Vice President, “CNR, National Research Council”
    • Enrico GaraciPresident, “Istituto Superiore di Sanità”- President “CNCCS”
    • Cesare Cursi, President “Commission for Industry” “Senate of the Italian Republic”
  • 16.20 – 17.00  “Translational Medicine and Research” 
    • Coordinator: Giulio Draetta Director, “MD Anderson Institute for Applied Cancer Science” – Houston
    • Ramesh Deka, CEO, AIIMS All India Institute of Medical Sciences
    • Alexander E. Platonov, Director, “Central Institute of Epidiomology” Moscow
    •  Claire Skentelbery,  General Secretary “European Biotechnology Foundation”, Brussels
  • 17.00 – 17.40 “Economy and Research”
    • Coordinator:  Matteo Liguori,    Managing Director “IRBM Science Park”
    • Massimo Scaccabarozzi, President, “Farmindustria”
    • Luigi Mansi,  Vice President,  “Federchimica”
    • Luigi Orsenigo, Professor Applied Economy, “UISS” – Pavia
    • Gianfranco Polillo, UnderSecretary “Ministry of Economy and Finance”
  • 17.40   “Closing remarks”
    • Luigi Ambrosio, Director “Department of Chemistry and Material Science”,  “CNR, National Research Council”  – Vice President CNCCS
    • Mario Pescante, President of “Commission for European Policies”, House of Commons.

Library of the Senate  – Sala “G. Spadolini”

20th November, 2012

  • 10.00 – 10.30 Accreditation
  • 10.30 – 10.40 “Announcement of Awards”
    • Enrico GaraciPresident, “Istituto Superiore di Sanità”- President “CNCCS”
  • 10.40 – 11.00  “The Institutions and young researchers”
    • Renato Schifani President, Senate of the Republic
  • 11.00 – 11.40 “Motivation for Awards”
    • Pietro Di Lorenzo President IRBM Science Park, Managing Director, “CNCCS”
    • Guido Viceconte, Member Health and Hygiene Commission, “Senate of the Republic”
    • Giuseppe Palumbo, President, Social Affairs Commission, – House of Commons.
    • Luigi Ambrosio, Director “Department of Chemistry and Material Science”,  “CNR, National Research Council”  – Vice President CNCCS
  • 11.40 – 12.00 “Proclamation of Winners”
    • Adelfio Elio Cardinale,  Undersecretary, “Ministry of Health”
    • Ignazio Marino, President of Parliamentary Commission on Public Health Service “Senate of the Italian Republic”.
  • 12.00 – 12.20 “Laudatio”
    • Carlo Maria Croce  Director, Institute of Genetics, “Ohio State University” – Columbus, Ohio
  • 12,20 – 12.30 “Reading of Prize Motivation”
    • Giovanni Rezza, Head, Dept. Infectious Parasitic and Immuno-mediated Diseases “Istituto Superiore di Sanità”, President, “Scientific Committee CNCCS”
  • 12,30   Prize Award Ceremony


Access to the Senate requires formal attire: jacket and tie for gentlemen, and formal dress for ladies.

Comments are closed.